Do you know anyone who has made great strides this past year, shown exceptional professionalism or leadership, developed a new or innovative process or made a contribution to our field that has made a positive impact for our profession and/or the children we serve? If so, please consider your colleagues for the awards listed below. The awards will be presented at the Fall Conference.

The 3 award categories are Honors of OSSPEAC, Founder’s Award, and Outstanding Service Award.

Award descriptions also found at: (http://www.osspeac.org/osspeac-honors) or contact Laura Novotny directly at lauran623@gmail.com with questions. A short description of the award categories are below. We thank you in advance!


Honors of OSSPEAC

This honor is  awarded to a  speech/language pathologist  and /or educational audiologist  who has worked  in a school/educational setting  and is currently  an OSSPEAC member. This award is presented to  an individual who has  made outstanding contributions through:

  • Participation in/contribution to OSSPEAC
  • Outstanding work as a clinician/supervisor
  • Providing or initiating innovative programming
  • Contribution to publications/literature/research
  • Other areas of achievement  deemed worthy of nomination

2016 : Ann Slone

2018: Dr. Lynne Rowan

 Founders’ Award

This honor is awarded to up to two  members in good standing who exemplify the  mission of OSSPEAC,  “Removing Communication  Barriers for  Ohio’s Children” will  be honored. The speech/language pathologist and/or educational audiologist will  have made an impact through service to their  local school district  or student(s)  in their  school district. The following factors are considered:

  • Improvement of the life of  students who  have speech, language, and hearing needs
  • Collaboration with district  personnel, parents, and students
  • Excellence  in innovative contributions  and programs to the work setting
  • Professionalism
  • Leadership at the  local level

This award is  presented by OSSPEAC  in honor  of the  Founders’ of OSSPEAC.

2017 Founders Award: Chris Cowgill

2018: Not Awarded


Kathleen D. Shelby Outstanding Service Award

This  award is  presented to  an individual who has provided outstanding support to speech/language pathology and/or educational  audiology services being provided  in a school/educational setting. Recipients may include a  classroom teacher, administrator,  classroom assistant, educational interpreter, intervention  specialist, occupational or physical therapist,  counselor, social worker, parent,  legislator, or member  of another  organization.

2017: Judy Stuckey

2018: Patricia DiMinno



1996 Akron: Annie Glenn

1998 Columbus: Barb Conrad, Jan Osborne

1999 Columbus: Margaret Burley, Jane Wiechel, Randy Gardner

2000 Middleburg Heights: Carrie Spangler, Susan Bussard

2001 Cleveland: Ellen Reaser, Nada Allender, Peggy Fitzmaurice

Barb Conrad, Rob Fox, Jim Lynn, Nancy Creaghead

2002 Cincinnati: Dan Pallante

2003 Cincinnati: Terry Hallett

2004 Huron: Kathy Jillson

2005 Huron: Joe Rohr, Paula Tolin

2006 Akron: Corrine Doege, Sue Grogan-Johnson

2007 Akron: Lou Staffilino, Dottie Wise

2008 Columbus:  Sandy Brotman-Domoracki

2009 Columbus: Don D’Amore, Kelly O’Reilly

2010 Columbus:  Bernadette Laughlin, Daniel Choo, Susan Wiley, Lorene


2011 Columbus:  Dawn Belacic, Lisa Smith

2012 Columbus:  Sabrina Rittenhouse , Leslie Zimmerman, Tracie Guggenheim

2013 Columbus: Jean Smith, Chuck Carlin

In 2008, the OSSPEAC Conference began collaborating with Wayne Secord and the Leadership in Language and Literacy conference. Since then, OSSPEAC has also presented the following national Leadership Awards:

Patricia Lindamood Award

   2008 Charlette M. Green  

   2009 Kathy Knighton, Leslie Holzhauser-Peters 

   2010 Lisa D. Williamson

   2011 Donna S. Murray

   2012 Perry Flynn 

   2013 Karen Carver


Nancy Lee McKinley Award

   2008 Barbara J. Conrad, Kathryn D. Jillson

   2009   Nada Allender, Nancy A. Creaghead   

   2010 Susan L. Grogan-Johnson, Jo-Anne Prendeville, Barbara D. Weinrich 

   2011 Ann Johnson-Glaser 

   2012 Steve Griffin

   2013 Margo Kinzer-Courter


Reid Lyon Award

   2008 Carol E. Westby


Annie Glenn Award

   2008 Barbara J. Moore, Judy K. Montgomery

   2009 Lou Denti

   2010 Barbara and Tom Ehren

   2011 Kathleen D. Shelby

   2012 Scott Yaruss

   2013 Marilee Fini


Richard R. and Laura W. Kretschmer Award

   2009 Richard R. Kretschmer, Laura W. Kretschmer

    2010 Peter Paul


Thanks to each award recipient for your outstanding contributions to our field!